Manchester United have won the Charity Shield a record 21 times (including 4 shared titles). They were also the first club to win the Charity Shield when it was introduced in 1908, at which time the competition was designed to pitch professionals against amateurs to raise money for charity. The 1908 Charity Shield went to a replay - it has been contested as a one match affair ever since.

In more recent years the competition has been known as the Community Shield. Manchester United's first victory in the renamed competition was in 2003, with victory over Arsenal on penalties. A few of the club's other Charity Shield victories stand out, including the 8-4 goalfest against Swindon Town in 1911 and the 1967 victory against Tottenham Hotspur, made infamous due to the Spurs keeper (Pat Jennings) scoring a goal from normal play.

David Moyes took over as manager of Manchester United in 2013 following the retirement of Sir Alex Ferguson, and the 2013 Charity Shield victory was his only silverware with the club. José Mourinho's Man Utd team won the 2016 Community Shield thanks to a late goal by new signing, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, setting the tone for a new period at the club under Mourinho's leadership.

The table below summarises details of all Manchester United programmes relating to Charity Shield victories.

For the serious collector, the ManUtdProgs 2018 Collectors Report is now available for £34.99. This provides you with in-depth collectors information on all Manchester United Cup Final Winning Programmes; including an up-to-date price guide to help value your collection and details of all known pirate programmes. Click here for more information.

Community Shield2016Leicester City2-1P-1
Community Shield2013Wigan Athletic2-0P-1
Community Shield2011Manchester City3-2P-1
Community Shield2010Chelsea3-1P-1
Community Shield2008Portsmouth0-0 (3-1 penalties)P-1
Community Shield2007Chelsea1-1 (3-0 penalties)P-1
Community Shield2003Arsenal1-1 (4-3 penalties)P-1
Charity Shield1997Chelsea1-1 (4-2 penalties)P-1
Charity Shield1996Newcastle Utd4-0P-1
Charity Shield1994Blackburn Rovers2-0P-1
Charity Shield1993Arsenal1-1 (5-4 penalties)P-1
Charity Shield1990Liverpool1-1 (Shared)P-1
Charity Shield1983Liverpool2-0P-1
Charity Shield1977Liverpool0-0 (Shared)P-1
Charity Shield1967Tottenham Hotspur3-3 (Shared)P-1
Charity Shield1965Liverpool2-2 (Shared)P-1
Charity Shield1957Aston Villa4-0P-1
Charity Shield1956Manchester City1-0P-2
Charity Shield1952Newcastle Utd4-2P-3
Charity Shield1911Swindon Town8-4P-5
Charity Shield1908QPR1-1P-5
Charity Shield1908 (Replay)QPR4-0P-5

Rarity Key: P-1 (Common), P-2 (Scarce), P-3 (Very Scarce), P-4 (Rare), P-5 (Very Rare), P-6 (Unique)

If you have any questions regarding the information above please contact

Manchester United Cup Final Programme Website; FA Cup, Charity Shield, European & League Cup Final Programme information

This site is not authorised by or connected with Manchester United plc or the official club website. All trademarks acknowledged.
The Manchester United Programme information on this site is for reference only and may not be current and/or accurate. Last Update: Jan 2018.
Under no circumstances shall the owner of this site be liable for your actions, based on the Manchester United Programme information contained herein.